Thursday, August 27, 2015

BMW to Bring 13 Historic Vehicles to 4th Zandvoort Historic Grand Prix

BMW Group Classic Historic Motorsport has announced that it will be bring ten race cars and three motorcycles to this year’s ZandvoortHistoric Grand Prix (August 28 to 30). While it’s been 30 years since there’s been a modern F1 Grand Prix on Dutch soil, the Zandvoort Historic brings legends back to life. With more than 50,000 visitors last year, the program, which has races and demo runs on its 4.26 km track, obviously interests a lot of people.

BMW won’t be posting pictures until after the event (if time permits, I’ll repost them), but it has provided information on some of the vehicles it’s bringing to its first time at the event:

Chevron BMW B21 from the 1972 Formula 2 championship
March 782, powered by a BMW engine, which won the 1978 F2 European Championship
BMW M1 from the 1979 Procar series
Winning BMW 635 CSi from the 1983 European Touring Car Championship
Brabham BMW BT52 that won the 1983 Formula 1 World Championship in 1983
BMW M3 2.5 DTM from the 1992 German Touring Car series
Winning BMW V12 LMR from the 1999 24-Hour Race of Le Mans
BMW M3 GT2 from the 2011 24-Hour Race of Le Mans GT Pro class

1954 BMW RS 54
1960s BMW R 50 Kaczor
BMW S 1000 RR that won the 2014 Isle of Man Senior Tourist Trophy


No comments:

Post a Comment

You don't need to log in to leave a comment. You can use "anonymous" on the drop-down menu.